|◀ 1 - 12 of 975 ▶|
View:
Description
06
Bibliography

FROM THE BOOKER PRIZE-WINNING AUTHOR OF GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER

WINNER OF THE NESTA FELLOWSHIP AWARD 2003

'Wildly entertaining, deeply affecting' Ali Smith, author of How to be both and Autumn

A coming-of-age tale to make the muses themselves roar with laughter and weep for pity -- sassy, razor-sharp and transformative.


Londinium, AD 211. Zuleika is a modern girl living in an ancient world. She's a back-alley firecracker, a scruffy Nubian babe with tangled hair and bare feet - and she's just been married off a fat old Roman. Life as a teenage bride is no joke but Zeeks is a born survivor. She knows this city like the back of her hand: its slave girls and drag queens, its shining villas and rotting slums. She knows how to get by. Until one day she catches the eye of the most powerful man on earth, the Roman Emperor, and her trouble really starts . . .

Silver-tongued and merry-eyed, this is a story in song and verse, a joyful mash-up of today and yesterday. Kaleidoscoping distant past and vivid present, The Emperor's Babe asks what it means to be a woman and to survive in this thrilling, brutal, breathless world.

Item#:
9780140297812
Your Price:
1000.00
Each
Out of Stock
Description
05
Bibliography

HBOs hit series A GAME OF THRONES is based on George R. R. Martins internationally bestselling series A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, the greatest fantasy epic of the modern age. A FEAST FOR CROWS is the fourth volume in the series.

The Lannisters are in power on the Iron Throne.

The war in the Seven Kingdoms has burned itself out, but in its bitter aftermath new conflicts spark to life. The Martells of Dorne and the Starks of Winterfell seek vengeance for their dead. Euron Crows Eye, as black a pirate as ever raised a sail, returns from the smoking ruins of Valyria to claim the Iron Isles.

From the icy north, where Others threaten the Wall, apprentice Maester Samwell Tarly brings a mysterious babe in arms to the Citadel. As plots, intrigue and battle threaten to engulf Westeros, victory will go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel and the coldest hearts.

Item#:
9780006486121
Your Price:
1000.00
Each
Description
05
Bibliography

The second volume of A Song of Ice and Fire, the greatest fantasy epic of the modern age. GAME OF THRONES is now a major TV series from HBO, featuring a stellar cast.

Throughout Westeros, the cold winds are rising.

From the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding lands of Winterfell, chaos reigns as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms stake their claims through tempest, turmoil and war.

As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky - a comet the colour of blood and flame - five factions struggle for control of a divided land. Brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night.

Against a backdrop of incest, fratricide, alchemy and murder, the price of glory is measured in blood.

Item#:
9780006479895
Your Price:
1000.00
Each
Item#:
9780062844378
Your Price:
1484.00
Each
Out of Stock
Description
02
Bibliography

Writer, Samson Young, is staring death in the face, and not only his own.

Void of ideas and on the verge of terminal decline, Samsons dash to a decaying, degenerate London has brought him through the doors of the Black Cross pub and into a murder story just waiting to be narrated.

At its centre is the mesmeric, doomed Nicola Six, destined to be murdered on her 35th birthday. Around her: the disreputable men who might yet turn out to be her killer. All Samson has to do is to write Nicolas story as it happens, and savour in this one last gift that life has granted him.

'A true story, a murder story, a love story and a thriller bursting with humour, sex and often dazzling language' Independent

Item#:
9780099748618
Your Price:
500.00
Each
Your Price:
1159.00
Each
Description

The Infinite Sea is the second book in the phenomenal and bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner*

*The 5th WAVE is now a major film by Sony Pictures, starring Chloe Grace Moretz*

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

How do you rid the earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Cassie Sullivan and her companions lived through the Others' four waves of destruction. Now, with the human race nearly exterminated and the 5th Wave rolling across the landscape, they face a choice: brace for winter and hope for Evan Walker's return, or set out in search of other survivors before the enemy closes in. Because the next attack is more than possible - it's inevitable.

No one can anticipate the depths to which the Others will sink - nor the heights to which humanity will rise . . .

www.The5thWaveIsComing.com
www.rickyancey.com


'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances . . . JUST READ IT' Entertainment Weekly

'The next HIT' Daily Mail

'This gut-wrenching sequel to The 5th Wave careens on a violent course of non-stop action.' Publishers Weekly, starred review


'CHILLING' Sun

'The pace is RELENTLESS' Heat

'A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . Should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today

'ACTION-PACKED' MTV.com

'A twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction' Wall Street Journal

'An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting' Bookseller

'Heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises . . . a sure thing for reviewers and readers alike.' Booklist (starred review)

'A gripping SF trilogy about an Earth decimated by an alien invasion... the question of what it means to be human is at the forefront' Publishers Weekly

'Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school.' People Magazine

*Winner of the 2014 Red House Children's Book Award
*2014 Children's Choice Book Awards Finalist for Teen Book of the Year
*A YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
*A YALSA 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers
*A Booklist 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
*A VOYA 2013 Perfect Ten
*An Amazon Best Book of the Year

Books in the series:
The 5th Wave (Book 1)
The Infinite Sea (Book 2)
The Last Star (Book 3)

Bibliography
Rick Yancey (www.rickyancey.com) is the author of several adult novels and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
Item#:
9780141345871
Your Price:
1091.00
Each
Your Price:
1159.00
Each
Item#:
9780062968456
Your Price:
3405.00
Each
Description

'The definitive book of the year in our house, for both parents and offspring' Maggie O'Farrell, Guardian Books of the Year

'Absolutely beautiful - get one for yourself and one to inspire a woman in your life' Stylist
*Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller*
*Blackwell's Book of the Year*
*Foyles Children's Book of the Year*
*Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year*

What if the princess didn't marry Prince Charming but instead went on to be an astronaut? What if the jealous step sisters were supportive and kind? And what if the queen was the one really in charge of the kingdom? Illustrated by sixty female artists from every corner of the globe, Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls introduces us to one hundred remarkable women and their extraordinary lives, from Ada Lovelace to Malala, Amelia Earhart to Michelle Obama. Empowering, moving and inspirational, these are true fairy tales for heroines who definitely don't need rescuing.

Bibliography

Elena Favilli (Author)
Elena Favilli is a media entrepreneur and a journalist. She has worked for Colors magazine, McSweeney's, RAI, Il Post, and La Repubblica, and has managed digital newsrooms on both sides of the Atlantic. In 2011, she created the first iPad magazine for children, Timbuktu magazine. She is the founder and CEO of Timbuktu Labs.

Francesca Cavallo (Author)
Francesca Cavallo is a writer and theatre director. Her award-winning plays have been staged all across Europe. A passionate social innovator, Francesca is the founder of Sferracavalli, an International Festival of Sustainable Imagination in Southern Italy. In 2011, Francesca joined forces with Elena Favilli to found Timbuktu Labs, where she serves as Creative Director.

Item#:
9780141986005
Your Price:
2775.00
Each
Out of Stock
Item#:
9780063085480
Your Price:
2755.00
Each
Out of Stock
Your Price:
1940.00
Each
|◀ 1 - 12 of 975 ▶|
View: